You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. <br><strong>For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.</strong>

Log in Become a Member

One of the seven major regional IGP areas for the production of country wines in France. The other six are Atlantique, Comté Tolosan, Méditerranée, Pays d'Oc, Terres du Midi and Val de Loire. The ethymological meaning of "Rhodania" is of Celtic origin; meaning "on the banks of the Rhône". It is located in the southeast and includes the nine departments of Ain, Ardèche, Drôme, Haute-Savoie, Isère, Loire, Rhône, Saône-et-Loire and Savoie. The wine-growing areas belong, at least in part, to the three wine-growing regions of Loire, Rhône and Savoie. The most important red wine varieties are Grenache Noir (Garnacha Tinta), Syrah, Mourvèdre (Monastrell), Carignan Noir (Mazuelo), Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc. The main white wine varieties are Chardonnay, Viognier, Grenache Blanc (Garnacha Blanca), Altesse and Muscat Blanc.

Voices of our members

Hans-Georg Schwarz

As honorary chairman of the Domäne Wachau, it is the easiest and quickest way for me to access the wein.plus encyclopaedia when I have questions. The certainty of receiving well-founded and up-to-date information here makes it an indispensable guide.

Hans-Georg Schwarz
Ehrenobmann der Domäne Wachau (Wachau)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,079 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,413 Pronunciations · 186,975 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon