You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


One of the seven major regional IGP areas for the production of country wines in France. The other six are Comtés Rhodaniens, Comté Tolosan, Méditerranée, Pays d'Oc, Terres du Midi and Val de Loire. It is located in the south-west on the Atlantic coast and includes the four departments of Charente, Charente-Maritime, Dordogne and Gironde in their entirety, as well as a large part of the Lot-et-Garonne department. The area created in 2006 includes parts of the wine-growing regions of Bordeaux and south-west France. This enables Bordeaux winegrowers to also produce country wines, which was previously not possible. The climate is Atlantic with mild winters and long, sunny summers.

Voices of our members

Dominik Trick

The wein.plus encyclopaedia is a comprehensive, well-researched reference work. Available anytime and anywhere, it has become an indispensable part of teaching, used by students and myself alike. Highly recommended!

Dominik Trick
Technischer Lehrer, staatl. geprüfter Sommelier, Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

0 Keywords · 0 Synonyms · 0 Translations · 0 Pronunciations · 0 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon