You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Comté Tolosan

One of the six major regional IGP areas for the production of local wines in France. The other five are Atlantique, Comtés Rhodaniens, Méditerranée, Pays d'Oc and Val de Loire. It is located in the southwest and includes the 12 departments of Ariège, Aveyron, Cantal, Gers, Haute-Garonne, Hautes-Pyrénées, Landes, Lot, Lot-et-Garonne, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Tarn and Tarn-et-Garonne. The "County of Toulouse", which existed until 1271, was a feudal territory and included part of it. The area is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Spain to the south, Languedoc-Roussillon to the east and Bordeaux to the north. The name Comté Tolosan may be followed by the narrower geographical indications Bigorre, Cantal, Coteaux et Terrasses de Montauban, Haute-Garonne, Pyrénées-Atlantiques and Tarn-et-Garonne. Other independent IGP areas are Aveyron, Cotes de Gascogne, Côtes du Tarn, Gers and Lavilledieu. This is also where the AOC area Armagnac is located.

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,757 Keywords · 47,058 Synonyms · 5,310 Translations · 31,074 Pronunciations · 174,477 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon