You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The wine-growing region in the southeast of France lies between the Rhône region (west), as well as Lake Geneva on the border with Switzerland and the Italian region of Piedmont (east). The only exception to the western border is the small area of Bugey. North of this is the Jura region, with which Savoie is often considered to share a wine-growing area. The Romans already knew the area and Pliny the Elder (23-79) described the resinous character of the wines. The French philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) lived near Chambéry from 1736 to 1742 and was effusive in his praise of Savoy's wine. From the beginning of the 15th to the middle of the 19th century, it was a kingdom in its own right, which also included large parts of Upper Italy such as Piedmont and the Aosta Valley, before finally falling to France in 1860.

Voices of our members

Roman Horvath MW

wein.plus is a handy, efficient guide to a quick overview of the colourful world of wines, winegrowers and grape varieties. In Wine lexicon, the most comprehensive of its kind in the world, you will find around 26,000 keywords on the subject of grape varieties, wineries, wine-growing regions and much more.

Roman Horvath MW
Domäne Wachau (Wachau)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,386 Keywords · 46,992 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,720 Pronunciations · 203,030 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon