You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The Italian region with the capital Campobasso lies in the middle of the boot on the Adriatic Sea. Until the 1960s, the vineyards were allocated to the neighbouring region of Abruzzo in the north. Molise is divided into the two provinces of Campobasso and Isernia. The name is said to go back to a noble family in the Middle Ages. Vineyards are cultivated in the hills of the Sannio mountains at an altitude of up to 600 metres above sea level. The largely small vineyards, 90% of which are less than half a hectare, are highly fragmented. The vineyards cover about 5,400 hectares. A moderate climate prevails.

The most important red wine varieties are Aglianico, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano, Pinot Nero (Pinot Noir), Sangiovese and Tintilia del Molise. The most important white wine varieties are Chardonnay, Bombino Bianco, Falanghina, Fiano. Greco Bianco, Malvasia (?), Moscato Bianco = Muscat Blanc, Pinot Bianco = Pinot Blanc, Pinot Grigio = Pinot Gris, Riesling Renano (Riesling), Sauvignon = Sauvignon Blanc, Trebbiano d'Abruzzo and Trebbiano Toscano. Most of the production is done by winegrowers' cooperatives. Well-known producers are Cipressi and Di Majo Norante. There is no DOCG area yet. The IGT (country wines) and DOC (quality wines) areas are

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to keep up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to come back often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,424 Keywords · 47,030 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,757 Pronunciations · 207,491 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon