You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

DOC area for still, sparkling and semi-sparkling wines in the two Italian regions of Veneto (in the provinces of Belluno, Padova, Treviso, Venice and Vicenza) and Friuli Venezia Giulia (in the provinces of Gorizia, Pordenone, Trieste and Udine). Prosecco was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2019 in the "Cultural Landscape" category. The vast area covers over 24,000 hectares of vineyards. Antonio Carpenè (1838-1902) is considered the founder of Prosecco sparkling wine in the 19th century. The former IGT area was highly qualified in 2009. At the same time, the former DOC area Conegliano-Valdobbiadene was upgraded to the DOCG area Conegliano-Valdobbiadene Prosecco. The previously used grape variety name Prosecco is now protected by EU law exclusively as a designation of origin and no longer as a variety name. The grape variety Prosecco (Prosecco Tondo) is now called Glera, the grape variety Prosecco Lungo is now called Glera Lunga.

Voices of our members

Dominik Trick

The wein.plus encyclopaedia is a comprehensive, well-researched reference work. Available anytime and anywhere, it has become an indispensable part of teaching, used by students and myself alike. Highly recommended!

Dominik Trick
Technischer Lehrer, staatl. geprüfter Sommelier, Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,266 Keywords · 46,869 Synonyms · 5,322 Translations · 31,599 Pronunciations · 193,636 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon