You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

World Heritage Site

UNESCO (United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization), with its headquarters in Paris, was founded in London in 1945 as a specialised agency of the UN (nearly 200 states). It awards the title of World Heritage (World Cultural Heritage and World Natural Heritage) to sites that are of world importance because of their uniqueness, authenticity and integrity and are proposed by the states in which they are located. The title is based on the World Heritage Convention ratified by 194 states. As of 2021, the UNESCO World Heritage List included 1,154 monuments in 167 countries. Of these, 869 are listed as cultural monuments and 218 as natural monuments, with a further 39 monuments listed as mixed cultural and natural heritage sites. 40 World Heritage sites are transboundary or transnational, i.e. assigned to two or more states.

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to keep up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to come back often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,386 Keywords · 46,992 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,720 Pronunciations · 203,030 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon