You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Friuli Venezia Giulia

The region (also known as Friuli for short) with its capital Trieste is located in the extreme north-east of Italy. It borders Austria to the north and Slovenia to the east. The cross-regional landscape of Friuli forms the bulk of the region and includes its provinces of Pordenone and Udine, parts of Gorizia (but not Trieste), as well as the province of Belluno and 11 municipalities of the province of Venice in Veneto. The area has always been borderland with changing rule under Rome, Byzantium, Venice and the Habsburg Empire. In 181 BC, the Romans founded the colony of Aquilieia and brought their wine culture with them. However, they already found a viticulture founded by the Celts and developed it further, as many archaeological finds testify. Julius Caesar (100-44 BC) then extended the rule, and the name Julian (Giulia) also goes back to him. In 53 BC, he founded the city of Forum Iulii (today's Cividale), which then became Friuli.

Voices of our members

Dr. Christa Hanten

For my many years of work as an editor with a wine and culinary focus, I always like to inform myself about special questions at Wine lexicon. Spontaneous reading and following links often leads to exciting discoveries in the wide world of wine.

Dr. Christa Hanten
Fachjournalistin, Lektorin und Verkosterin, Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,382 Keywords · 46,989 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,716 Pronunciations · 202,680 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon