You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The Federal Republic of Germany in Central Europe with its capital Berlin was formed in its current form through the reunification with the GDR, which was founded in 1949, in 1990. It covers 357,588 km² and is divided into 16 federal states. Starting clockwise in the north, Germany borders the nine states of Denmark, Poland, the Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg, Belgium and the Netherlands, as well as the North Sea and Baltic Sea in the north. Almost two thirds of the vineyards are located in the south-west of the state in the valleys of the Rhine and Moselle rivers and their tributaries. The federal state of Rhineland-Palatinate is home to 6 of the 13 growing regions. The rest are in the south.

Voices of our members

Roman Horvath MW

wein.plus is a handy, efficient guide to a quick overview of the colourful world of wines, winegrowers and grape varieties. In Wine lexicon, the most comprehensive of its kind in the world, you will find around 26,000 keywords on the subject of grape varieties, wineries, wine-growing regions and much more.

Roman Horvath MW
Domäne Wachau (Wachau)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,343 Keywords · 46,933 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,677 Pronunciations · 199,071 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon