You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg in Luxembourgish) in the west of Central Europe with the capital Luxembourg covers 2,587 km². It borders France to the south, Belgium to the west and Germany to the east. Together with neighbouring Belgium and the Netherlands, it forms the Benelux countries.

Luxemburg - Landkarte, Föagge, Wappen


The wine-growing history of this country is linked to that of the Moselle; this river forms the border with Germany over a length of 36 kilometres. To the east, on the other bank, lies the German Moselle wine-growing region. The Romans introduced viticulture to the entire region as early as the 1st century BC. In the Middle Ages, many monasteries were founded, leading to an upswing. An extremely cold winter in 1709 almost completely destroyed the vineyards. Following a decision at the Congress of Vienna in 1815, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg had to cede all the vineyards on the other side of the river. From 1880, there was a great upswing due to a customs agreement. Luxembourg wines were exported to Germany as a base wine for sparkling wine or as a blended wine. However, this came to an end after the First World War.

Voices of our members

Thomas Götz

Serious sources on the internet are rare - and Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one such source. When researching for my articles, I regularly consult the wein.plus encyclopaedia. There I get reliable and detailed information.

Thomas Götz
Weinberater, Weinblogger und Journalist; Schwendi

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,381 Keywords · 46,990 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,715 Pronunciations · 202,577 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon