You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The federal state of Lower Austria with its capital St. Pölten is located in the east of Austria. With an area of around 19,200 km², it is the largest federal state. It surrounds the Austrian capital Wien, borders the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia to the north-east, Burgenland to the south-east, Styria to the south and Upper Austria to the west.

Even before the soldiers of Emperor Marcus Aurelius Probus (232-282) brought wine presses to the Danube, the indigenous people pressed the so-called Marcomanni wine. Viticulture was strongly influenced by Wien, the monastery Klosterneuburg, as well as the Benedictine-founded monasteries of Göttweig in the Kremstal and Melk in the Wachau. These were centres of spiritual and cultural life and also strongholds of exemplary wine culture. The former dinstlgut in Loiben (Wachau), whose origins date back to the 9th century, also had a great influence. The noble Liechtenstein family was founded in the 13th century. They acquired large areas of vineyards and introduced progressive viticulture methods. In 1636, a cellar regulation was issued, in which, among other things, the "Zuberaithung von Schwebl" (sulphur) was precisely regulated. The winery Hofkellerei Stiftung Fürst Liechtenstein still exists today.

Voices of our members

Dr. Edgar Müller

I have great respect for the scope and quality of the wein.plus encyclopaedia. It is a unique place to go for crisp, sound information on terms from the world of wine.

Dr. Edgar Müller
Dozent, Önologe und Weinbauberater, Bad Kreuznach

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,893 Keywords · 46,913 Synonyms · 5,325 Translations · 31,225 Pronunciations · 179,383 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon