You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. <br><strong>For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.</strong>

Log in Become a Member


The wine-growing region of Weinviertel in Lower Austria used to be divided into the two independent areas of Retz (in the west) and Falkenstein near Poysdorf (in the east), named after the respective main wine villages. Above the village of Falkenstein, which lies in the north-east near the Czech border, towers the castle ruins of the same name, which date back to around 1050. The vineyards cover 185 hectares of vineyards and consist of calcareous, loamy soils with sandstone admixture. They are mainly planted with the white wine varieties Grüner Veltliner (Falkensteiner is an old synonym), Welschriesling and Weißburgunder (Pinot Blanc), as well as the red wine varieties Zweigelt, Blauer Portugieser and Blauburger. There is an interesting display object in the Falkenstein wine trail. A small wine barrel with the date 1456 and the designation Reifenbeißer refers to a particularly sour vintage that may have been used for the construction of Vienna's St. Stephen's Cathedral. Well-known wineries are Dürnberg, Jauk Leo, Luckner Richard, Neustifter Reinhard - Weingut Tor zur Sonne, Pichler Heinz, Salomon Josef and Stadler Johannes. These form the Falkensteiner Berggericht brand community.

Voices of our members

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher

In the past, you needed a wealth of encyclopaedias and specialist literature to keep up to date in your vinophile professional life. Today, Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one of my best helpers and can rightly be called the "bible of wine knowledge".

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher
Lehrgangsleiter Sommelierausbildung WIFI-Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,078 Keywords · 46,831 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,412 Pronunciations · 186,869 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon