You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Wine-growing region

General term for larger areas used for viticulture. In the various countries, this is regulated differently under wine law and can be read there. See also under vineyard area.

Austria - generic and specific wine-growing area

Austria is divided into three wine-growing regions (until 2009 there were four, including Vienna). These are Weinland (with the generic wine-growing regions of Burgenland, Lower Austria and Vienna), Steirerland (Styria) and Bergland (the remaining five federal provinces). The four federal provinces Burgenland, Lower Austria, Styria and Vienna are generic wine-growing regions. Except for Vienna (which is both a generic and a specific wine-growing region), the other three are divided into specific wine-growing regions. The origin-specific DAC system (Districtus Austriae Controllatus) was introduced from the 2002 vintage onwards and this was completed in 2023 with the introduction in the last wine-growing region Thermenregion (Lower Austria). The DAC areas correspond in scope to the wine-growing region of the same name.

Voices of our members

Dr. Christa Hanten

For my many years of work as an editor with a wine and culinary focus, I always like to inform myself about special questions at Wine lexicon. Spontaneous reading and following links often leads to exciting discoveries in the wide world of wine.

Dr. Christa Hanten
Fachjournalistin, Lektorin und Verkosterin, Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,382 Keywords · 46,989 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,716 Pronunciations · 202,680 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon