You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The parliamentary Republic of Croatia (Croatian: Hrvatska) in the transition zone between Central and South-Eastern Europe with its capital Zagreb covers 56,594 km². The national territory lies to the east of the Adriatic Sea and partly in the south-west of the Pannonian Plain. Croatia borders Slovenia to the north-west, Hungary to the north, Serbia to the north-east, Bosnia-Herzegovina to the east and Montenegro to the south-east. After the Second World War, Croatia became part of Yugoslavia in 1945. Following a referendum in 1991, Croatia declared its independence in June 1991, but this was not recognised by Serbia. This led to a war that lasted almost four years and only ended in 1995.

Voices of our members

Sigi Hiss

There is a vast number of sources on the web where one can acquire knowledge about wine. But none has the scope, timeliness and accuracy of the information in the encyclopaedia at wein.plus. I use it regularly and rely on it.

Sigi Hiss
freier Autor und Weinberater (Fine, Vinum u.a.), Bad Krozingen

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,382 Keywords · 46,989 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,716 Pronunciations · 202,680 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon