You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Designation for the French wine-growing region of Burgundy, but also a regional appellation encompassing the entire region. It applies to all areas that either lie outside the higher-class appellations or to wines that do not comply with their strict production rules. This group is the lowest level of the four-level Burgundy classification, to which all Burgundian wines are basically entitled. Certain additional designations listed at the end limit the regional origin to smaller areas/sites or wine types.

Karte von Burgund - Appellationen

The designation Bourgogne is supplemented either by the name of a grape variety (Aligoté), a wine type (Blanc, Clairet, Crémant, Mousseux, Passe-Tout-Grain, Rosé, Rouge), a commune or a site. The vineyards cover 3,200 hectares of vines with red, rosé, white and sparkling wines. The most important white wine variety is Chardonnay, others are Pinot Blanc, Pinot Beurot (Pinot Gris), Aligoté, Melon de Bourgogne and Sacy. The most important red wine variety is Pinot Noir, others are Pinot Liébault, Gamay, César and Tressot Noir. As a special feature, wines from the Gamay variety may also be marketed under "Bourgogne" from nine (of the ten) cru communes in the Beaujolais area. The Bourgogne appellations:

Voices of our members

Markus J. Eser

Using the encyclopaedia is not only time-saving, but also extremely convenient. What's more, the information is always up to date.

Markus J. Eser
Weinakademiker und Herausgeber „Der Weinkalender“

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,403 Keywords · 47,036 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,737 Pronunciations · 205,264 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon