You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

DOC area for red, rosé and white wines in the Italian region of Liguria. The zone includes the municipalities of Campomorone, Ceranesi, Genova, Mele, Mignanego, Sant'Olcese and Serra Riccò on the banks of the river Polcèvera and its tributaries in the province of Genova. The Bianco must contain at least 60% Vermentino and/or Bianchetta Genovese and/or Albarola, with a maximum of 40% being other authorised varieties. The pure white wines Bianchetta Genovese and Vermentino must contain at least 85% of the respective variety. All white wines are also produced as Frizzante, Passito and Spumante. For white wines from the Coronata subzone (within Genoa), this name may appear on the label. Rosso (also as Frizzante and Novello) and Rosato (also as Frizzante) are produced from Dolcetto and/or Sangiovese and/or Ciliegiolo (zum. 60%), as well as other authorised varieties (max. 40%).

Voices of our members

Sigi Hiss

There is a vast number of sources on the web where one can acquire knowledge about wine. But none has the scope, timeliness and accuracy of the information in the encyclopaedia at wein.plus. I use it regularly and rely on it.

Sigi Hiss
freier Autor und Weinberater (Fine, Vinum u.a.), Bad Krozingen

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,987 Keywords · 46,819 Synonyms · 5,324 Translations · 31,321 Pronunciations · 183,167 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon