Log in Become a Member

San Antonio (Chile)

The wine growing area Valle de San Antonio (also called San Antonio-Leyda Valley) is located between the capital Santiago and San Antonio in Chile. Together with the two areas of Aconcagua and Casablanca it forms the Aconcagua region. The small area was only opened up for viticulture in the 1970s. The vineyards cover only about 300 hectares. The humid and cool climate is influenced by the Pacific Ocean, which is only four kilometres away. The dry soils, rich in clay and limestone, are mainly used to grow the white wine varieties Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay and Pinot Gris, as well as the red wine varieties Pinot Noir, Merlot, Malbec(Cot), Syrah and Carmenère. Well-known producers are Casa Marín, Garcés Silva and Matetic, who also make up the majority of the production.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.136 Keywords · 48.170 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.450 Pronunciations · 155.966 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.