You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The state of Georgia (Georgian: Sakartvelo) in the Near East) with the capital Tbilisi covers 69,700 km² (including Abkhazia and South Ossetia) and 57,215 km² (excluding). The former USSR state became independent in 1991 after the collapse of the Soviet Union. It is located east of the Black Sea in the South Caucasus (see Transcaucasia). It is bordered by Russia to the north, Turkey and Armenia to the south and Azerbaijan to the east. The two parts of the country, Abkhazia and South Ossetia, are occupied by Russian forces and are not under the control of the Georgian government. They are only recognised as sovereign by Russia and a few other states.

Voices of our members

Dominik Trick

The wein.plus encyclopaedia is a comprehensive, well-researched reference work. Available anytime and anywhere, it has become an indispensable part of teaching, used by students and myself alike. Highly recommended!

Dominik Trick
Technischer Lehrer, staatl. geprüfter Sommelier, Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,403 Keywords · 47,036 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,737 Pronunciations · 205,264 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon