You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Département in the south of France on the Mediterranean coast with the capital Nîmes in the political region of Occitania. It was named after the river Gard, a tributary of the Rhône, and lies between the departments of Hérault (to the west) and Vaucluse (to the east). The department is geologically divided into four zones. These are the Cévennes in the north-west, the scrublands in the centre, the Costières in the south-east and the lowlands in the south consisting of the Rhône valley and the Mediterranean coastal plain. The climate is Mediterranean with hot, dry summers and autumns with intense rain and the cold and dreaded Mistral wind. Gard is divided into two wine regions, Languedoc and Rhône. The AOC areas:

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to keep up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to come back often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,428 Keywords · 47,026 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,761 Pronunciations · 208,170 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon