You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. <br><strong>For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.</strong>

Log in Become a Member

Coastal region

Wine-growing region at the southern tip of South Africa, bordering the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The vineyards cover around 32,000 hectares of vineyards within a radius of 200 kilometres around Cape Town in the Atlantic coastal region. The huge area is characterised by a mild Mediterranean climate with high humidity. The annual rainfall is 1,200 millimetres. The Coastal Region comprises the eight districts of Cape Point, Darling, Franschhoek, Paarl, Tygerberg, Stellenbosch, Swartland and Tulbagh. Independent Wards not belonging to one of these districts are Constantia and Hout Bay. The other South African regions are Boberg, Breede River Valley, Cape South Coast, Klein Karoo and Olifants River.

Voices of our members

Thomas Götz

Serious sources on the internet are rare - and Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one such source. When researching for my articles, I regularly consult the wein.plus encyclopaedia. There I get reliable and detailed information.

Thomas Götz
Weinberater, Weinblogger und Journalist; Schwendi

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,079 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,413 Pronunciations · 186,972 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon