You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The parliamentary, federal republic at the southern tip of Africa with the three capital cities of Pretoria (government), Cape Town (parliament) and Bloemfontain (judiciary) covers 1,221,037 km². South Africa borders the Indian Ocean to the south and south-east, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe to the north, Mozambique to the north-east and Eswatini (Swaziland until 2018) to the east. The Kingdom of Lesotho is surrounded by South Africa as an enclave.

Südafrika - Landkarte, Flagge, Wappen

South Africa was a Dutch colony from 1652 and a British colony from 1797 (with interruptions) until 1910. After the end of the Second World War, the white minority population expanded the apartheid structures in an authoritarian manner under the political leadership of the National Party. Nelson Mandela (1918-2013) was elected South Africa's first black president in 1994 and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to end apartheid.

Voices of our members

Sigi Hiss

There is a vast number of sources on the web where one can acquire knowledge about wine. But none has the scope, timeliness and accuracy of the information in the encyclopaedia at wein.plus. I use it regularly and rely on it.

Sigi Hiss
freier Autor und Weinberater (Fine, Vinum u.a.), Bad Krozingen

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,408 Keywords · 47,043 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,742 Pronunciations · 205,461 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon