You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Wine-growing area (district) in South Africa, which belongs to the Coastal Region. It is bordered by the Helderberg with the town of Somerset West to the south and the Simonsberg to the north-east. There are seven Wards Banghoek, Bottelary, Devon Valley, Jonkershoek Valley, Papegaaiberg, Polkadraai Hills and Simonsberg-Stellenbosch. Stellenbosch is named after the town, which lies 50 kilometres east of Cape Town. It was founded in 1679 by the second Dutch governor Simon van der Stel (1639-1712) and named after him; the name roughly means "Stel's bush". Today Stellenbosch is considered the South African wine capital. The Wine&Spirits Board (state wine control authority), an agricultural college for the training of South African winegrowers and the Oenoligical and Viticulturual Reserach Institute "Nietvoorbij" with experimental vineyards and laboratories, where the tastings for the "Wine of Origin" classification take place, are located here.

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,758 Keywords · 47,058 Synonyms · 5,310 Translations · 31,075 Pronunciations · 174,438 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon