Log in Become a Member


DOC area for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Maremma landscape in the Italian region of Tuscany. The zone includes a part of the municipality of Orbetello in the province of Grosseto. The pure variety wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety. The three red wines are Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Sangiovese (the latter also called Riserva). The three white wines are Chardonnay, Sauvignon(Sauvignon Blanc) and Vermentino.

The wine types Bianco and Vin Santo are blended from Trebbiano Toscano (10-30%), Ansonica = Inzolia (30-50%), Vermentino (20-40%), Chardonnay and/or Sauvignon (max. 20%), and other authorised varieties (max. 20%). The wine types Rosso (also as Riserva) and Rosato are produced from Sangiovese (70%), as well as other approved varieties (max. 30%).

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.128 Keywords · 48.185 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.442 Pronunciations · 155.938 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.