You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The Republic of Iraq (Arabic جمهورية العراق, Kurdish Komarî Êraq) in the Near East with its capital Baghdad covers 434,128 km². It borders Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Jordan to the south, Syria to the west, Turkey to the north and Iran and the Persian Gulf to the east. The north of the country forms the autonomous region of Kurdistan with its own parliament. Today's Iraq was created in 1920 from the three Ottoman provinces of Baghdad, Mosul and Basra. The Kingdom of Iraq existed from 1921 to 1958. In 1958, the king was overthrown in a military coup and a republic was proclaimed. From 1979 to 2003, the country was ruled by the dictator Saddam Hussein. This regime was overthrown under the leadership of the USA.

Voices of our members

Dominik Trick

The wein.plus encyclopaedia is a comprehensive, well-researched reference work. Available anytime and anywhere, it has become an indispensable part of teaching, used by students and myself alike. Highly recommended!

Dominik Trick
Technischer Lehrer, staatl. geprüfter Sommelier, Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,403 Keywords · 47,036 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,737 Pronunciations · 205,264 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon