Log in Become a Member

Côte Chalonnaise

The area named after the town of Chalon-sur-Sâone (also known as Chalonnais for short) is located in the centre of the Burgundy wine region between the Côte d'Or and Mâconnais areas and comprises some 4,500 hectares of vineyards. It is also called the "Région de Mercurey" after a municipality. However, it is not an appellation in itself. The town with its port on the river Sâone was already an important trading place for wine in the Celtic period and later with the Romans. Excavations in the riverbed have revealed over 25,000 Roman amphorae. Red wine from the municipality of Givry was one of the many favourite wines of King Henry IV (1553-1610). The predominant soil type is limestone or calcareous clay. The climate is slightly drier than on the Côte d'Or.

Karte von Burgund - Appellationen
From DalGobboM¿!i? - Own work, GFDL, Link
edited by Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer

Mainly 75% of the red wine varieties Pinot Noir, Pinot Liébault and Gamay are cultivated, and 25% of the white wine varieties Aligoté, Pinot Blanc, Pionot Beurot(Pinot Gris), Chardonnay and Melon de Bourgogne. There are five municipalities with their own appellations. According to the Burgundy classification, these do not have Grands Crus, but in four of them there are Premier Crus. These five municipalities are Bouzeron, Givry, Mercurey, Montagny and Rully. Regional appellations are Bourgogne Côte Chalonnaise and Bourgogne Côtes du Couchois. Other well-known communes are Chagny, Fontaines, Jambles, Poncey, Saint-Desert and Saint-Valerin. In the Côte Chalonnaise area, large quantities of Crémants (sparkling wines) are marketed under the appellation name Crémant de Bourgogne. There are many producers, especially in the commune of Rully.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.166 Keywords · 48.193 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.480 Pronunciations · 156.227 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon