wein.plus
Attention
You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Gluten

Term (colloquially also glue or gluten) for a mixture of proteins found in the seeds of some cereals such as wheat, rye and barley. Other grains, such as rice and maize, are gluten-free. Gluten triggers a whole range of diseases, including coeliac disease, a disease of the mucous membrane of the small intestine caused by hypersensitivity to gluten. People suffering from this disease have to avoid foods containing gluten for the rest of their lives. Gluten is a declarable allergen. Wine, sparkling wine and grape must are considered gluten-free, but beer made from the above grains does contain gluten. As a rule, the proteins used in fine foods are gluten-free. However, gluten should not be confused with glutamate, which is responsible for the taste sensation umami. For limits of substances in wine, see ADI (acceptable daily intake).

Voices of our members

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher

In the past, you needed a wealth of encyclopaedias and specialist literature to keep up to date in your vinophile professional life. Today, Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one of my best helpers and can rightly be called the "bible of wine knowledge".

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher
Lehrgangsleiter Sommelierausbildung WIFI-Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,403 Keywords · 47,035 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,737 Pronunciations · 205,287 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon

EVENTS NEAR YOU

PREMIUM PARTNERS