You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Castile-La Mancha (Spanish: Castilla-La Mancha) in Spain is an autonomous community with the capital Toledo and covers 79,463 km². Together with Madrid and most of Castile-León, it forms the region of Castile, whose name goes back to the medieval kingdom of the same name. Castile-La Mancha is the successor to the historic region of New Castile and comprises the five provinces of Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca, Guadalajara and Toledo. The area borders seven regions. Clockwise, these are Madrid to the north-west, Castile-León to the north, Aragon and Valenciana to the east, Murcia to the south-east, Andalusia to the south and Extremadura to the west. Together with Extremadura, Castile-La Mancha is part of the vast Meseta plateau landscape (see map at the bottom).

Voices of our members

Dr. Christa Hanten

For my many years of work as an editor with a wine and culinary focus, I always like to inform myself about special questions at Wine lexicon. Spontaneous reading and following links often leads to exciting discoveries in the wide world of wine.

Dr. Christa Hanten
Fachjournalistin, Lektorin und Verkosterin, Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,410 Keywords · 47,049 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,744 Pronunciations · 205,895 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon