You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Aragonia (English), L'Aragon (French), Aragona (Italian), Aragón (Spanish), Aragão (Portuguese).

The autonomous region (Spanish: Aragón, Cat. Aragó) with the capital Zaragoza is located in the northeast of Spain and covers 47,717 km². The north is dominated by the Pyrenees, whose main ridge forms the northern border with France along its entire length. It borders Catalonia to the east, Valenciana to the southeast and Castile-La Mancha, Castile-León, Rioja and Navarre to the west. The region is divided into the three provinces of Huesca, Zaragoza and Teruel.


Wine growing was already practised here by the Romans. In the 11th century, after the Moors had been pushed southwards, an independent kingdom emerged, which in the meantime included the Balearic Islands, Navarre and Sicily, and from the 12th century also Catalonia. It existed until the end of the 15th century and was then incorporated with other territories into the Spanish Empire. Viticulture has been practised here since the 2nd century BC.

Voices of our members

Dr. Edgar Müller

I have great respect for the scope and quality of the wein.plus encyclopaedia. It is a unique place to go for crisp, sound information on terms from the world of wine.

Dr. Edgar Müller
Dozent, Önologe und Weinbauberater, Bad Kreuznach

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,408 Keywords · 47,043 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,742 Pronunciations · 205,461 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon