You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

DOC area on the Portuguese island of the same name; see under Azores.

The archipelago of the Azores (Portuguese: Ilhas dos Açores), which belongs to Portugal, is located in the mid-Atlantic 1,369 km west of the European mainland (Cabo da Roca) and 1,930 km from North America (Newfoundland). It consists of nine larger and several smaller volcanic islands totalling 2,351 km². The main island is São Miguel with the capital Ponta Delgada, the others are Corvo, Faial, Flores, Graciosa, Pico, Santa Maria, São Jorge and Terceira. To the south-east is the archipelago of Madeira, which also belongs to Portugal, and to the south are the Canary Islands, which belong to Spain.

Azoren - Lankarten


Khartagic and Cyrenian coins from the 4th century BC, which were found on the island of Corvo in 1749, indicate that the islands were already visited by the Phoenicians in Antike...

Voices of our members

Markus J. Eser

Using the encyclopaedia is not only time-saving, but also extremely convenient. What's more, the information is always up to date.

Markus J. Eser
Weinakademiker und Herausgeber „Der Weinkalender“

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,385 Keywords · 46,991 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,719 Pronunciations · 202,830 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon