You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The "United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland" (UK) off the north-west coast of Europe with its capital London is the largest European island state at 243,610 km². It consists of the four parts of England (130,395 km²), Wales (20,735 km²), Scotland (77,910 km²) and Northern Ireland (13,843 km²). The states of England, Scotland and Wales on the main island together form Great Britain. The independent Republic of Ireland is not included.

There are around 800 smaller islands around the main island, which also belong to the United Kingdom. The most important and largest island groups are Shetland and Orkney in the North Sea north of Scotland, the Outer Hebrides and the Inner Hebrides in the Atlantic Ocean west of Scotland, Anglesey in the Irish Sea north of the Welsh coast, the Isles of Scilly in the Celtic Sea south-west of England and the Isle of Wight in the English Channel.

Voices of our members

Roman Horvath MW

wein.plus is a handy, efficient guide to a quick overview of the colourful world of wines, winegrowers and grape varieties. In Wine lexicon, the most comprehensive of its kind in the world, you will find around 26,000 keywords on the subject of grape varieties, wineries, wine-growing regions and much more.

Roman Horvath MW
Domäne Wachau (Wachau)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,408 Keywords · 47,043 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,742 Pronunciations · 205,461 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon