You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

DOC area for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Italian region of Emilia-Romagna. The zone includes the municipalities of Albinea, Bibbiano, Canossa, Casalgrande, Castellarano, Montecchio Emilia, Quattro Castella, San Polo d'Enza, Scandiano, Vezzano sul Crostolo and Viano, as well as parts of the municipalities of Casina, Cavriago, Reggio Emilia and Sant'Ilario d'Enza in the province of Reggio Emilia. The Classico area includes the municipality of Albinea, as well as parts of the municipalities of Casalgrande, Castellarano, Reggio Emilia, Scandiano and Viano.

The single-varietal wines must contain etrwas different at least 85% or 90% of the respective variety. The white wines are Chardonnay, Malvasia = Malvasia di Candia Aromatica, Pinot (Pinot Bianco and/or Pinot Nero white pressed), Sauvignon = Sauvignon Blanc (also as Passito and Riserva) and Spergola. The red wines are Cabernet Sauvignon, Lambrusco = Lambrusco Grasparossa, Lambrusco Montericco (as Rosso and Rosato), Malbo Gentile and Marzemino.

Voices of our members

Dr. Edgar Müller

I have great respect for the scope and quality of the wein.plus encyclopaedia. It is a unique place to go for crisp, sound information on terms from the world of wine.

Dr. Edgar Müller
Dozent, Önologe und Weinbauberater, Bad Kreuznach

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,266 Keywords · 46,879 Synonyms · 5,322 Translations · 31,599 Pronunciations · 193,356 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon