You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Central America

See under America.

The Americas double continent consists of North America with Greenland (an autonomous part of Denmark) and Central America totalling 24,930,000 km² and South America with 17,843,000 km². It covers a total of 42,549,000 km². This corresponds to 29% of the total land area of the earth with around one billion inhabitants.

The northern part of North America includes the island of Greenland with 2,166,086 km², Canada, the USA (with the 50 states listed there from Alaska to Wyoming) and Mexico. However, the double continent of America is often divided into North America, Central America (Central America plus islands) and South America.

Amerika - Karte

Central America and Central America are not congruent. Central America includes Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama. Central America includes Central America and the countries of the Caribbean islands to the north-east (West Indies). These include...

Voices of our members

Thomas Götz

Serious sources on the internet are rare - and Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one such source. When researching for my articles, I regularly consult the wein.plus encyclopaedia. There I get reliable and detailed information.

Thomas Götz
Weinberater, Weinblogger und Journalist; Schwendi

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,428 Keywords · 47,026 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,761 Pronunciations · 208,220 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon