You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. <br><strong>For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.</strong>

Log in Become a Member


DOC area for red wine in the Italian region of Piedmont, which was created in 2011 The zone includes the municipalities of Calosso, Castagnole delle Lanze and Costigliole d'Asti in the province of Asti. The red wine (also called Riserva) must contain at least 90% Gamba Rossa, the rest can be other authorised varieties. The Calosso Passarà variety is made from dried grapes and is not pressed until 15 December at the earliest. If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna followed by the name of the vineyard can be indicated.

Voices of our members

Dominik Trick

The wein.plus encyclopaedia is a comprehensive, well-researched reference work. Available anytime and anywhere, it has become an indispensable part of teaching, used by students and myself alike. Highly recommended!

Dominik Trick
Technischer Lehrer, staatl. geprüfter Sommelier, Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,079 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,413 Pronunciations · 186,885 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon