You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. <br><strong>For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.</strong>

Log in Become a Member

4 lugs

In the context of a wine evaluation (judging) or wine address (describing), we sometimes speak of four different olfactory sensations that can be perceived one after the other when tasting:

1. nose

Without swirling the glass, only sniff briefly and lightly without inhaling too deeply. This allows the particularly volatile aromas to be perceived and gives a first indication of the type and complexity of the wine.

2nd Nose

By swirling the glass (see also under Enjoying Wine), further aromas are released. Any wine defect that may be present is now also intensified or only now perceived.

Voices of our members

Roman Horvath MW

wein.plus is a handy, efficient guide to a quick overview of the colourful world of wines, winegrowers and grape varieties. In Wine lexicon, the most comprehensive of its kind in the world, you will find around 26,000 keywords on the subject of grape varieties, wineries, wine-growing regions and much more.

Roman Horvath MW
Domäne Wachau (Wachau)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,079 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,413 Pronunciations · 186,972 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon