You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Balearic Islands

The autonomous region of the Balearic Islands (Catalan: Illes Balears, Spanish: Islas Baleares), which belongs to Spain and has its capital in Palma (on Mallorca), covers a total of 4,992 km² and is located in the western Mediterranean. The archipelago includes the five main inhabited islands of Mallorca (3,604 km²), Menorca (695 km²), Cabrera (16 km²), Ibiza (572 km²) and Formentera (83 km²). There are also 146 uninhabited islands, including the Dragonera and Pantaleu, which are protected rocky islands. The history has always been strongly linked to Catalonia, which is why Catalan is spoken there today (in addition to Castilian). The centre with Mallorca lies around 260 km east of the Spanish mainland near Valencia. It stretches 260 kilometres from west to east and 120 kilometres from north to south.

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to keep up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to come back often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,424 Keywords · 47,030 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,757 Pronunciations · 207,506 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon