You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Montecucco Sangiovese

DOCG area for red wine in the Maremma area of the Italian region of Tuscany. The wine previously included in the DOC area of Montecucco was highly classified in 2011. The zone extends over approximately 350 hectares of vineyards. It includes the municipalities of Arcidosso, Campagnatico, Castel del Piano, Cinigiano, Civitella Paganico, Roccalbegna and Seggiano in the province of Grosseto

The municipality or Vigna followed by the name of the vineyard may be indicated on the bottle label if the grapes come from classified vineyards. These are Stribugliano (Arcidosso), Marrucheti, Montorsaio and Sant'Antonio (Campagnatico), Montenero d'Orcia and Montegiovi (Castel del Piano), Borgo Santa Rita, Castiglioncello Bandini, Monticello Amiata, Castel Porrona, Poggi del Sasso and Sasso d'Ombrone (Cinigiano), Monte Antico, Civitella Marittima, Paganico, Casale di Pari and Pari (Civitella), and Cana (Roccalbegna)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,508 Keywords · 47,133 Synonyms · 5,310 Translations · 30,825 Pronunciations · 171,632 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon