You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Canton with the capital of the same name in the north-east of Switzerland. Viticulture was established here as early as the 9th century by the Benedictines on the Rhine island of Rheinau and developed into an important economic sector. At the end of the 19th century, over 20,000 winegrowers cultivated 5,600 hectares of vineyards. Due to phylloxera, emigration, industrialisation and urbanisation, there was an enormous decline. Today, the vineyards cover only 644 hectares, which are part of the wine region of German-speaking Switzerland. Zurich is divided into five areas with over 90 municipalities

In 2009, the Lake Zurich area was classified as AOC. It extends over three cantons, i.e. Zurich (with the municipalities of Au, Herrliberg, Küsnacht, Männedorf, Meilen, Stäfa, Uetikon am See, Wädenswil and Zurich), Schwyz (with Freienbach and Nuolen) and St. Gallen (with Rapperswil-Jona and Uznach). The other four areas are Limmattal & Säuliamt with Buchs, Oberengstringen, Oetwil, Otelfingen, Unterengstringen and Weiningen; Unterland & Rafzerfeld with Bülach, Eglisau, Embrach, Freienstein-Teufen, Kloten, Oberembrach, Rafz, Regensdorf, Weiach and Will, as well as those in the canton Schaffhausen located in the municipalities of Buchberg and Rüdlingen; wine country between Winterthur and Schaffhausen with Andelfingen, Benken, Berg am Irchel, Laufen-Uhwiesen, Neftenbach, Oberstammheim, Ossingen, Rheinau, Trüllikon, Truttikon, Unterstammheim, Wiesendangen and Winterthur; and upland with Greifensee, Hirnwil, Maur and Uster. The large body of water has a positive, climate-regulating influence on viticulture.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

25.226 Keywords · 47.269 Synonyms · 5.308 Translations · 30.539 Pronunciations · 167.974 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon