Log in Become a Member


Wine growing area (District) in South Africa, which belongs to the Breede River Valley region. It is situated on the upper reaches of the Breede River and its tributaries between the districts of Paarl in the west and Robertson in the east and is surrounded on three sides by mountains. There are the four Wards Aan-de-Doorns, Hex River Valley, Nuy and Scherpenheuvel. The climate is very hot and dry, especially in the eastern part, and requires artificial irrigation by the waters of the Brandvlei Dam and the Breede River. The western part is rainy. The vineyards cover 8,658 hectares (2009) on mostly very fertile alluvial soil, the rest of the vineyard consists of weathered slate soil

They are planted 69% with the white wine varieties Chenin Blanc, Colombard, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Muscat d'Alexandrie, Sémillon and Crouchen (Cape Riesling), and 31% with the red wine varieties Cabernet Sauvignon, Shiraz, Merlot, Pinotage, Ruby Cabernet, Pinot Noir, Cinsaut and Cabernet Franc. Mainly eaux-de-vie, white wines and fortified sweet wines are produced. There are about 20 large Co-op's (cooperatives). Well known producers are De Wet Co-op Wine Cellar, Du Toitskloof Winery, Groot Eiland Winery, Merwespont, Merwida Wine Cellar, Nuy Wine Cellar and Romansrivier Winery.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.141 Keywords · 48.170 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.455 Pronunciations · 156.039 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.