You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Vinschgau Valley

Subzone (Valle Venosta) for white wines and red wines within the South Tyrolean DOC area (Alto Adige or dell'Alto Adige) in the Italian wine growing area South Tyrol (in the double region Trentino-South Tyrol). It includes the municipalities of Castelbello-Tschars (Castelbello-Ciardes), Latsch (Laces), Naturns (Naturno), Parcines (Parcines) and Schlanders (Silandro). If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna may be indicated followed by the name of the vineyard.

The wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety, the remaining 15% may be other approved varieties. The eight white wines are Chardonnay, Kerner, Müller-Thurgau, Pinot Bianco(Pinot Blanc), Pinot Grigio(Pinot Gris), Riesling, Sauvignon(Sauvignon Blanc) and Traminer Aromatico(Gewürztraminer). Of all the white wines there is also a Passito and a Vendemmia tardiva(late harvest). The two red wines are Pinot Nero(Pinot Noir) and Schiava (different Schiava varieties). Of all wines except Müller-Thurgau there is also a Riserva.

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,755 Keywords · 47,050 Synonyms · 5,310 Translations · 31,072 Pronunciations · 174,298 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon