You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Vegetarian wine

First of all, it must be pointed out that the terms "vegetarian wine" and "vegan wine" (on the label) must not be used (see then below). The two terms "vegetarian" and "vegan" describe not only the diet but the whole way of life. Both have in common a high ethical orientation of the personal lifestyle and diet. Both vegetarians and vegans want to avoid killing animals and reject industrial factory farming. There are different manifestations with the following criteria:

  • Ovo-lacto-vegetarians - abstain from meat and fish; eggs and dairy products are allowed.
  • Lacto-vegetarians - abstain from meat, fish and eggs; milk and dairy products are permitted.
  • Ovo-vegetarians - abstain from meat, fish, milk and dairy products; eggs are allowed
  • Pescetarians - abstain from meat of animals of the same temperature (constant value regardless of the ambient temperature, mammals and birds), fish and seafood are permitted (animals of alternating temperatures such as reptiles, amphibians, fish, insects, worms)
  • Flexitarians - meat of special quality is only allowed in exceptional cases, e.g. from organic farms.
  • Vegan - abstain from all animal products (including honey) this also applies to the purchase of animal products such as leather products, fur, wool, down and silk.
  • Frutarians - eat only plants that are not damaged during harvesting, i.e. fruit, nuts and seeds (the use of vegetable plants is controversial among frutarians)


In viticulture, this means the renunciation of aids or products of animal origin. This concerns fining and stabilising with protein-containing agents such as albumin, egg white or casein (vegan) or by means of gelatine and isinglass (vegetarian). Although these substances are only used for treatment, small residues in the wine cannot be ruled out. It is not uncommon for organic wines to also meet the criteria for such wines. Since no proteins are used, such wines are also more tolerable for allergy sufferers who are sensitive to them. Vegetarian or vegan production has hardly any influence on the taste or quality of the wine. Some producers are responding to these consumer needs, which are on the increase, and are providing corresponding information on the additional label.

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to stay up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to visit more often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,117 Keywords · 46,878 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,451 Pronunciations · 188,319 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon