You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Vegan wine

No animal products (egg white, milk, casein) may be used in the winemaking process. All animal products are replaced by plant products. Plant proteins such as peas, beans and wheat, as well as activated charcoal or bentonite can be used for this purpose. However, it is not enough if there are no excipients left in the end product wine; they must not be used in the entire processing procedure. The indication "suitable for vegans" (or "suitable for vegetarians") as well as a reference to the affiliation to a relevant association is permissible, but not "vegan wine" or a health reference. Vegan wines are always also vegetarian, but vegetarian wines are not necessarily also vegan. The V-label is an internationally recognised trademark of the EVU (European Vegetarian Union) for the labelling of vegetarian and vegan products and has been protected since 1996. By complying with the criteria of a vegan wine production, ECOVIN wineries have the possibility to label them with the seal. See under vegetarian wine.

Voices of our members

Sigi Hiss

There is a vast number of sources on the web where one can acquire knowledge about wine. But none has the scope, timeliness and accuracy of the information in the encyclopaedia at wein.plus. I use it regularly and rely on it.

Sigi Hiss
freier Autor und Weinberater (Fine, Vinum u.a.), Bad Krozingen

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,261 Keywords · 46,882 Synonyms · 5,322 Translations · 31,594 Pronunciations · 193,205 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon