You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

DOC area (German "Tal der Etsch") with the German name "Etschtaler" for red wines, rosé wines and white wines. The area stretches across borders in the two sub-regions South Tyrol (Alto Adige) and Trentino (which together form the Italian region Trentino-Alto Adige) and Veneto. The zone includes the mountain slopes and plains along the river Adige (German: Etsch) from Merano in South Tyrol to Sant'Ambrogio di Valpolicella in Veneto. There are 34 municipalities in the province of Bolzano/Bozen (South Tyrol), 36 in the province of Trentino (Trentino), and Brentino Belluno, Dolcè and Rivoli Veronese in the province of Verona (Veneto). The former Valdadige Terradeiforti subzone was classified as a separate DOC area in 2010

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

25.245 Keywords · 47.223 Synonyms · 5.306 Translations · 30.557 Pronunciations · 168.293 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon