You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Val di Magra

IGT area in the Italian region of Tuscany; see there.

The region with the capital Florence is located in the centre of Italy on the Ligurian coast; the third largest Italian island Elba is also included. It borders Liguria and Emilia-Romagna to the north, Marche and Umbria to the east and Lazio to the south. Besides Piedmont, Tuscany is probably the most famous Italian wine-growing region and also one of the most beautiful areas of the country in terms of landscape. Long before the Romans, the Etruscans cultivated wine here, making it one of the oldest wine-growing regions in Europe. In ancient times, the area formed the land of Etruria, named after the original people. In Roman this means Tuscia, from which Tuscany then developed. From the third century B.C. the Etruscans were absorbed by the Romans. The Romans lent small estates to veteran legionaries for their services to the fatherland.

Toskana - Weingärten im Chianti-Gebiet und Karte

After the fall of the Roman Empire towards the end of the 5th century, Tuscany was dominated by Goths, Byzantines, Longobards and Franks. Under Emperor Charlemagne (742-814) the Via Francigena (Franconian road) was built, which connected northern and southern Italy and led through Lucca, San Gimignano, Siena and Radicofani in Tuscany. From the 11th century onwards, the long-enemy city-states of Florence and Siena, as well as Genoa and Venice further north, were established. At this time, due to the needs of the rapidly growing cities, the flowering of the Tuscan wine culture began. In the Middle Ages the "Wine of Florence" became widely known and was sold to the ruling courts as far away as England and Russia.

The Medici family is inextricably linked to Tuscan history, and has always been a great patron of the arts, science and viticulture. From the beginning of the 16th century Tuscany was united under their rule and in 1569 Pope Pius V (1504-1572) raised it to the status of a Grand Duchy. Grand Duke Cosimo III. (1642-1723) introduced 150 grape varieties at the beginning of the 17th century, including Cabernet Sauvignon (Uva Francesca). After the Medici died out, Franz Stephan of Lorraine took over the inheritance. In 1860, Tuscany was united by referendum with the Kingdom of Sardinia, with which it was incorporated into the new Kingdom of Italy in 1861. In 1716, under Cosimo III, the boundaries of the areas of Carmignano,...

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

24.224 Keywords · 48.122 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 29.540 Pronunciations · 164.014 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon