You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


In 1963, the Vaudois Winegrowers' Association created an award regulation for the best wines of the canton of Vaud(Switzerland). Only wines that meet the AOC requirements are admitted. However, even a faultless growth does not automatically receive the award, because the assessment or award criteria are far more stringent. The wines are tasted blind and analysed according to strict specifications with 25 criteria exclusively sensory (i.e. not chemical). These are divided into three main groups: Vue (appearance) with 1, Nez = Nose (nose = smell) with 10 and Bouche (mouth = taste) with 15 criteria. For each criterion a score of 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 can be given. Particular emphasis is placed on character and typicity of origin (appellation) or terroir and grape variety, as well as ageing potential.

Voices of our members

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher

In the past, you needed a wealth of encyclopaedias and specialist literature to keep up to date in your vinophile professional life. Today, Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one of my best helpers and can rightly be called the "bible of wine knowledge".

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher
Lehrgangsleiter Sommelierausbildung WIFI-Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,115 Keywords · 46,881 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,449 Pronunciations · 188,247 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon