Log in Become a Member


DOCG area for red wine in the Italian region of Campania. The zone was classified as DOC in 1970 and DOCG in 1993. The zone completely covers the municipalities of Bonito, Castelfranci, Castelvetere sul Calore, Fontanarosa, Lapio, Luogosano, Mirabella Eclano, Montefalcione, Montemarano, Montemiletto, Paternopoli, Pietradefusi, Sant'Angelo all'Esca, San Mango sul Calore, Taurasi, Torre le Nocelle and Venticano. The vineyards cover 420 hectares of vineyards located north-east of Avellino on volcanic mountain slopes in 17 municipalities. Castelfranci, Jampenne, Radici and Torre are considered to be the best locations, all of which are located at an altitude of about 400 metres above sea level

The wine is made from at least 85% Aglianico and a maximum of 15% of other authorised varieties such as Barbera, Piedirosso and Sangiovese. The leading producers produce it as a varietal wine. The tannin and extract-rich red wine with aromas of dark fruits, papaya, plums, spices and vanilla can be stored for 20 years and more. The colour changes from ruby red when young to mahogany tones when aged. The minimum alcohol content is 12% vol. It must mature for three years, at least one year in the barrel and two years in the bottle. After four years of ageing, 18 months in the barrel and 12.5% vol. alcohol, it may call itself Riserva

Taurasi is one of the best red wines in Italy and is equated with Barolo (Piedmont) and Brunello di Montalcino (Tuscany). A large part of the production comes from the famous Mastroberardino winery, whose Taurasi Radici Riserva vintage 1968 is considered legendary. Other famous producers are Caggiano, Caputo, Feudi di San Gregorio, Molettieri, Struzziero and Villa Raiano.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.128 Keywords · 48.185 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.442 Pronunciations · 155.938 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.