You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The Asian island state in the West Pacific with only about 36,000 km² of surface area with the capital Taipei calls itself the "Republic of China" (but is only recognized by 22 UNO states). It is separated from the Chinese mainland by the Formosa Strait and has a subtropical climate in the north and a tropical climate in the south. The provinces of Changhua and Taichung in the central western part of the island are ideal for agriculture and grape growing due to the fertile soil, warm climate and protection from typhoons. The oldest vineyard is "Domaine Shu Sheng", where grapes have been cultivated for five generations and later also wine growing. Hung Shu-sheng was the first Taiwanese winegrower to plant the Black Queen and Golden Muscat varieties, which are best suited to the Taiwanese climate, in the 1950s.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

24.166 Keywords · 48.160 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 29.482 Pronunciations · 163.892 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon