You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


One of the five specific wine-growing regions in the Austrian province or generic wine-growing region of Burgenland. In 2016, a restructuring took place with partial changes in the designations and area boundaries. The newly defined Rosalia winegrowing region replaced the former Großlage in the political district of Mattersburg in 2017. This comprises 19 municipalities, including Bad Sauerbrunn, Forchtenstein, Loipersbach, Mattersburg and the main town of Pöttelsdorf. It is named after the Heuberg, the highest elevation of the Rosalien Mountains (748 metres), a foothill of the Alps, which is also called Rosalia. Because of the strawberry, wine, sweet chestnut and many fruit varieties, it was given the epithet "Sweet Region". Large parts are designated as a nature park. The area adjoins the Leithaberg wine-growing region to the south.

Voices of our members

Egon Mark

For me, Lexicon from wein.plus is the most comprehensive and best source of information about wine currently available.

Egon Mark
Diplom-Sommelier, Weinakademiker und Weinberater, Volders (Österreich)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,028 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,324 Translations · 31,363 Pronunciations · 184,895 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon