You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. <br><strong>For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.</strong>

Log in Become a Member


The historic landscape between the Apennines and the Adriatic Sea is the eastern part of the Italian wine-growing region of Emilia-Romagna. It is home to such important cities as Cesena, Imola, Ravenna and, as the centre of seaside tourism, Rimini. From the 15th century onwards, there were constantly changing rulers here and in 1859 Romagna even formed an independent state called the Cispadan Republic with its capital Bologna for six months.

In 2011, the comprehensive DOC area of the same name was created, including the wines of the five DOC areas Cagnina di Romagna, Pagadebit di Romagna, Sangiovese di Romagna, Romagna Albana Spumante and Trebbiano di Romagna, which were thereby abandoned. It is divided into the subzones Bertinoro, Brisighella, Castrocaro-Terra del Sola, Cesena, Longiano, Meldola, Modigliana, Marzeno, Oriolo, Predappio. San Vicinio and Serra. There are some differences in the product range per subzone. The vineyards cover around 2,900 hectares of vines.

Voices of our members

Dr. Christa Hanten

For my many years of work as an editor with a wine and culinary focus, I always like to inform myself about special questions at Wine lexicon. Spontaneous reading and following links often leads to exciting discoveries in the wide world of wine.

Dr. Christa Hanten
Fachjournalistin, Lektorin und Verkosterin, Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,079 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,413 Pronunciations · 186,885 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon