You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The Republic of Peru (Spanish: Perú) in western South America with the capital Lima covers 1,285,216 km². It borders Ecuador and Colombia to the north, Brazil to the east, Bolivia to the south-east, Chile to the south and the Pacific Ocean to the west. The northernmost point of the country is about 4 kilometres south of the equator. The special feature of Peru is that it extends over three landscape zones with completely different climatic conditions. These are Costa (coast, 2,400 km) with 12%, Sierra (Andes, highlands) with 28% and Selva (rainforest, cloud and cloud forest) with 60% of the country's area.

Voices of our members

Thomas Götz

Serious sources on the internet are rare - and Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one such source. When researching for my articles, I regularly consult the wein.plus encyclopaedia. There I get reliable and detailed information.

Thomas Götz
Weinberater, Weinblogger und Journalist; Schwendi

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,403 Keywords · 47,035 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,737 Pronunciations · 205,273 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon