Log in Become a Member


Ward in the South African district of Stellenbosch; see there.

District in South Africa, which belongs to the Coastal Region. It is bordered by the Helderberg with the town of Somerset West to the south and the Simonsberg to the north-east. There are the seven Wards Banghoek, Bottelary, Devon Valley, Jonkershoek Valley, Papegaaiberg, Polkadraai Hills and Simonsberg-Stellenbosch. Stellenbosch is named after the city located 50 kilometres east of Cape Town. It was founded in 1679 by the second Dutch governor Simon van der Stel (1639-1712) and named after him; the name roughly means "Stel's Bush". Stellenbosch is today considered the South African wine capital. It is home to the Wine&Spirits Board (state wine control authority), an agricultural college for the training of South African wine growers and the Oenoligical and Viticultural Reserach Institute "Nietvoorbij" with experimental vineyards and laboratories where the tastings for the...

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.118 Keywords · 48.227 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.432 Pronunciations · 155.877 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.